Alcántara and Verlander unanimous winners of the Cy Young award

Alcántara and Verlander unanimous winners of the Cy Young award

Marlins right-hander Sandy Alcántara was unanimously chosen Wednesday as the winner of the National League’s Cy Young Award after a spectacular season on the mound in Miami. For his part, Justin Verlander won the award for the third time in his career by winning the American League

Alcántara, 27, led the majors with 228.2 innings of work and six complete games — the most in baseball in the last six years. The right-hander, who was called up to his second All-Star game this year, started 32 games (leading the major leagues) and had a 2.28 ERA, knocked out 207 rivals and made 24 quality starts, finishing with a record of 14-9. .

Of the award finalists, Alcántara posted the highest WAR, both from FanGraphs and Baseball-Reference.

Alcántara joins Bartolo Colón and Pedro Martínez (three times) as the only Dominicans to have won the Cy Young in history.

In his first full season after Tommy John surgery, the 39-year-old Verlander was 18-4 with a 1.75 ERA in 28 starts with the Astros, earning his second World Series title. .

Leading the league in wins, ERA, WHIP (.83), OPS against (.497), batting average against (.186) and hits per nine innings (5.97), Verlander further cemented his legacy in baseball being awarded for the third time. with the American League Cy Young Award.

In doing so, Verlander becomes only the 11th pitcher in history to have won at least three Cy Young Awards.

Leave a Comment